Blair Bulletin

Yes…and a Ten-Point Taxpayer Bill of Rights

January 2016

2016 01B 01



The IRS has adopted a Taxpayer Bill of Rights as proposed by National Taxpayer Advocate Nina Olson. It applies to all taxpayers in their dealings with the IRS. The Taxpayer Bill of Rights groups the existing rights in the tax code into ten fundamental rights, and makes them clear, understandable, and accessible.

Here’s a summary:

The Right To …

1. Be Informed

2. Quality Service

3. Pay No More Than The Correct Amount of Tax

4. Challenge The IRS’s Position And Be Heard

5. Appeal An IRS Decision In An Independent Forum

6. Finality

7. Privacy

8. Confidentiality

9. Retain Representation

10. A Fair And Just Tax System

Click here for the details of your rights.